Ricebag

Yes.. another ricebag.

I’m a little obsessed with these things and how easy they are to put together.

IMG_5031

This ricebag is the one my mom requested.  She wanted one that was long enough to wrap around her neck and shoulder area.

I cut two pieces of fabric 36in long and 6in’ wide.  I used flannel since it’s such a warm and cozy fabric.

I put them together with the “right” sides in and left a space in the top to turn it right side out.  After using a dowel to make the corners and seams come out right, I top stitched 1/4in in on each of the edges.

In order to keep the rice from constantly accumulating on one end or side of the rice bag, I decided to top stitch down the middle of the tube.  The short end measured 5in, so I put a marking on my sewing machine at the 2 1/2in mark so that I could properly topstitch down the middle of the tube.

In the opening I left, my daughter helped me pour the rice into to the two tubes.  We filled it about 2/3 full with rice.

After filling it, I topstitched 1/4in on that opening to make it look like the rest of the topstitching.

Realizing that the opening still looked “open”, I had to quickly learn to ladder stitch (thank you, Youtube!) to reinforce the seam and make it look like the rest of the seams.

With a little more practice, ricebags will definitely be something I could create to sell during craft fairs and in my Etsy store.. look out for that when it comes out!

Leave a Reply

