Ricebags

I inherited a sewing machine from my husband’s coworker.  When they moved, they decided they didn’t need it anymore and my husband snagged it knowing I’ve been wanting to try my hand at sewing for a long time now.

When I got it, I had NO IDEA what anything was.  A sewing machine, even thought I had wanted it for awhile, was a completely foreign machine to me.

Luckily, my aunt came to stay with me for a week to help with things and she taught me the very basics of using my sewing machine.

After I learned the basics, I decided to work on my first sewing project.

Ricebags.

My aunt left me with some scrap fabric to play with, so I made this rice bag:

image2

I didn’t think about seam allowance when I made this.  I literally sewed really close to the edge when putting it together.  I also didn’t understand why everyone left the opening in the middle of one of the edges as opposed to a corner.  Once I flipped it over, I had a very difficult time folding the seam to do a top stitch to close the bag.

Lesson learned.

Despite the errors, my mother and husband loved the bag.  They both placed an order for a bag of their own.  My husband wanted a slightly larger one to warm his hands in the cold mornings.  My mother wants one that can wrap around her neck to relieve her neck and shoulder pains.  Needless to say, by the weekend after making this rice bag, we were at the local Joann’s looking for a yard of fabric to make my mother’s rice bag.

After making the ricebag, I became ambitious and wanted to make rag quilt.  I’ll be sure to post about that in the future.  I had some scrap flannel fabric from that project and decided to make my husband’s rice bag from it.

By then, I was very aware of seam allowances and I was much more comfortable with the way my sewing machine worked.  I finished the bag within half an hour.

image1

I made sure to leave the opening in the middle of the edge instead of at the corner.  Flipping it over, filling it up with rice, and then sewing the top stitch was much easier after learning the lessons from the first rice bag.

Next year, I plan on making several of these, giving them away as gifts, and possibly posting them on my Etsy shop.

I knew after I would learn how to use a sewing machine I’d love sewing.  I can’t wait to try more projects and try to incorporate them into the Etsy shop.  But for now, I love learning and experimenting.

Leave a Reply

