Christmas 2014 – Gift Card Holders

I hope everyone had a great Christmas.

Now that Christmas is over and the gifts have been exchanged, I can show you the gift card holders that I made for some family members.

image3(1)

Aren’t they the cutest?  I love them so much.  Everything stamped was from some form of Lawn Fawn Christmas stamp set.. The snow man was totally paper pieced by me.  It was so super simple!

This year, instead of just putting a little flap at the bottom of the card, I decided to make a pocket.

image1(3)

Making these pockets were super simple and I’m here to show you how I did it!

Cut a piece of cardstock 3in x 3 1/2 in.

image1(4)

Then, score three of the sides 3/8in.

image2(3)I broke my Martha Stewart score board awhile back.  I used the little groove in my trimmer and a bone folder to make the score marks where I wanted them.  Pretty good money saver and great way to add another use to your paper trimmer.

After scoring, trim the lower corners where the score lines meet.  I always do this at an angle to reduce the amount of bulk in the corners.

image2(4)

On the edge that wasn’t scored or folded, using a 1in hole punch, punch out a half circle.

image4(1)

Then fold over all the edges and put adhesive on the flaps.  I use Swookwang Scor-Tape.  But if you’ve been following me on Facebook or Instagram, you already know how much I love Scor-Tape.

image3(2)

It’s important to put the adhesive facing OUT after you fold over the flaps.  You don’t want to glue the flaps down onto the pocket or else the card wont’ fit.  The adhesive is to attach the pocket onto the base of the card.

I put my pocket on the left hand side of the open card.  That leaves the right side available for any stamped sentiment or handwritten message you may want to include on the inside of the card.

Hope you enjoyed this little picture tutorial.  Let me know if you have any questions.

One thought on “Christmas 2014 – Gift Card Holders

  1. Pingback: Valentine | CutieQ Cards n Crafts

Leave a Reply

