January’s Scrapbook Layouts

I challenged myself this year to create 5 scrapbook layouts a month.  With only hours to spare on January 31st, I was frantically searching for a photo to scrapbook.  I was able to finish my 5th scrapbook layout with only 15 minutes left of the day.  Now, THAT’S dedication! 

Here are the 5 layouts I completed this month, in order..

Untitled

“Playdate” was made with scraps.  I liked the blue and green combination but I wanted to experiment with more colors.  I popped in the orange because my husband’s tanktop has some orange in it.  The color scheme was totally out of my comfort zone, but I’m overall pleased with the final look.  Having orange in the two opposite corners of the layout gave it balance and purpose.  I added the banner piece because I felt that the orange dominated the page.  That banner piece was bold enough to bring it all back.  That banner piece was left over panel from my husband’s birthday banner from last year.

Untitled

“Her Hiding Spot” felt a little forced.  I love this photo, but couldn’t pull any true inspiration from it.  This layout took a lot of fiddling and just sitting there to be completed.  I do love the colors of pink, yellow, and brown together.  I just wish I had better inspiration for it.  I’m still happy with the way it turned out.

Untitled

“Family Snapshot” was one of those layouts that turned out completely different from what I initially had it looking like.   This layout also utilized so many scraps.  I would just take so scraps and place it on the paper where ever it fit.  This also seems the most disconnected, yet connected, array of elements of any of my layouts this month.  I love the tile look of the white squares and I have used that technique several times on cards and layouts.  I have so many of those squares, I’m so glad I kept them and am putting them to use!

Untitled

“Drama Queen” is my favorite layout of the month.  I was so inspired when I made this that it came together in about a half an hour.  This layout was most about caputuring the memory of the photos that the other elements didn’t seem to matter.  I love how the pictures are laid out and the title is a mix of two different sets of letter stickers.  I don’t own many letter stickers, so I only use them when I feel I am totally happy with a layout. 

Untitled

“Girls Day Out” was the last layout of the month.  I was frantically searching for a picture and realized that I had recently taken a pretty cute one a few weeks ago.  I finished this layout at 11:45 pm on January 31st.  That’s cutting it close.  I’m not super sure why I chose oranges and grays as my color scheme, but I’m really happy with the outcome.  I tried to make the sequins look like they were dropped on randomly and I think I achieved the look, finally!  I’ve tried so many times to do it before, but they always looked wrong.  This time, I love it.  This was a fun layout to do and made me feel so accomplished once I finished it!

Thank you for letting me share my 5 layouts.  I promise to try to blog a lot more again now that life is starting to settle down.

If you want to see some process photos of these layouts and future layouts, follow me on Facebook, CutieQ Cards n Crafts!

Which layout is your favorite?

One thought on “January’s Scrapbook Layouts

  1. Pingback: My January in review.. | CutieQ Cards n Crafts

Leave a Reply

