Red, black and white.. card #1

For awhile after I decided to do my challenge, I hit a creativity block.

I think because I wanted to do too much.  I wanted to play with all my new stamps.  I wanted to experiment with different styles.  I wanted to try different color combinations.

Nothing felt “right.”

I started many card fronts, but got rid of them also.  They just didn’t feel like “me.” I just couldn’t get them to work.

So I thought to myself, “I need to stay true to me and my style.”

I stuck with what I knew, and I limited myself to one color scheme.  That day was red, black and white.

And I flew…

I made four cards that night, it was amazing!

So begins the small card series of red, black, and white cards… these are also cards 4-7 of my 2014 Card Challenge.. 10 cards before January 2014.

IMG_20131116_1327

Supplies used:

1.  Lawn Fawn’s “Happy Everything” stamp set
2.  TPC Studios  “Patterned Borders” stamp set
3.  VersaMark water mark ink
4.  Judikins white embossing powder
5.  Sakura Gelly Roll white gel pen
6.  Embossing bag

I experimented with heat embossing for this card.  I’ve done it before, but I always feel like I mess up the card when I do it.  But because I used 120# heavy black cardstock, I figured that warping would be at the absolute minimum and I would like the results.  I was right!  I used the embossing bag to prevent embossing powder from sticking in unwanted places, but because it’s a bag filled with fine white powder, it left white marks on the black paper.  I took advantage of it and smeared the bag all over the rest of the black cardstock to simulate a “chalkboard” look.

I heat embossed the sentiment, then I added white dash lines with my white gel pen.  I offset matted the pieces of black, red and white cardstock onto each other to just give it a little interest.

IMG_20131116_1328

I really liked this card!  I will always and forever love the red, black and white color combination.

Leave a Reply

