2 Peas in A Pod

I’m here with another layout from the same event as the last post.  This time, its my daughter and her daddy, my hubby.

I printed four pictures on the 4 x 6 photo sheet using my Canon Selphy again.  I fiddled around with the layout until I was pretty happy with what I had.

The color schemes weren’t exactly the same as the previous layout, but they were still similar so I wanted to stick with browns.  I had some patterned paper from a scrapbook set I received as a Christmas present a few years ago.  It was from Costco and wasn’t a particular brand I am familiar with.  I looked through the patterned papers and realized that several of them really matched the color scheme I was trying to achieve.

I came up with this basic layout.

Untitled

The pages were 12 x 12 so I had to cut them down eventually.

Like the last layout, I didn’t have specific memories attached to these pictures other than this was part of her first visit to Old Town San Diego.  So, I kept the journaling at a minimum.

Untitled

I took a bit of that ledger paper from the last layout and cut it down to make it look less “ledger-y.”  Then I found some sequins that matched the color scheme and added them to the top margin.  I love my straight lines..

The empty space on the top right of the page needed something.  I wasn’t sure if I wanted a title, or a few embellishments.  I don’t own enough embellishments to make a proper “embellishment cluster.”  So, that was out of the question.  I tried to play around with a few stamp sets, but i just couldn’t find the right sentiments or configuration to make it look the way I wanted.  Plus, I don’t own any other colors that could compliment the layout…

So, I turned to my DCWV Rub Ons from years and years ago.  I found one that was a cute little saying AND in the right color scheme!  Score!

I cut it down to shape, then I used some distress inks to give it more interest..

Untitled

I put those black strips of scrap behind the journaling/titling elements because it needed a little extra “umph.”  I figured the black would tie into the little bits of black that are in each of the pictures, so it worked out.

Untitled

Lastly, I’m really glad I was able to squeeze in four pictures into this layout.  I was thinking of doing the same thing I did with the previous layout, leaving three pictures small and one picture at the full 4 x 6, but I couldn’t figure out which picture to blow up.  Overall, I’m really happy with the way that this layout turned out!

Here’s the full picture.

Untitled

Leave a Reply

