September Birthdays!

I was super inspired to make a birthday card for one of my cousin’s sons that was turning the big 1-3 in September.

I LOVE September birthdays, but MY birthday is also in September, so I may be a bit biased.

I gathered a bunch of large scraps together to make a nice masculine cards, then I looked through my huge stash of stamps.

Untitled

The supplies above are the following:
1.  Sweet Stamp Shop – Calendar stamp set (quickly becoming another favorite “must use” stamp company)
2.  Lawn Fawn – A Birdie Told Me stamp set
3.  Lawn Fawn – Interlocking Backdrops stamp set
4.  Simple Stories Sn@p Stickers “Typeset”
5.  Staz-On Ink in Timber Brown
6.  Distress Ink in Black Soot
7.  Tombow marker in orange.

Here is the card, excuse the lighting, I’m still trying to find the best way to take pictures that work for me.. apparently the method I used for this card isn’t the best, but I had to quickly take the picture and send it out to the recipient as soon as I could to make it in time for his birthday…

Untitled

I used the orange marker on the star stamp.  I stamped it on what would be the day of the recipient’s birthday, then used the marker again to color in the star and make it really stand out.  I love the calendar stamp.  What’s great about that set is that the calendar is blank and each individual month is it’s own individual stamp that fits into that spot on.

Tilting the green cardstock onto the white one, and then tilting the white cardstock onto the base,  was a happy accident.  Everyone knows the science geek in me LOVES straight lines, but as I was putting the green and white pieces of cardstock together, I accidently dropped the green one.  It dropped in that position and actually stuck.  Usually when I drop it, I can still manage to take it apart, but this time, it really stuck!  So, I kept it!  And I totally LOVE the way it turned out!

In order to line up “Happy  Birthday” right onto the corner properly, I placed the letter stickers on in reverse order.  I started with the “y” in “birthday” and worked my way left.  I did the same with “happy.”

I really LOVE this card.  I think it’s perfect for a male recipient.  It can also be made with more feminine colors to be given to a female recipient.  AND the month and date can change according to whatever birth date will be celebrated!

I hope you enjoyed this card, it was super fun making it!

Leave a Reply

