Lalaloopsy birthday banner… Photo heavy post!

I can’t believe I forgot to post this!  Better late than never, I say!

Have I mentioned how much I enjoyed putting together my daughter’s birthday party?  Lalaloopsy is one of the most fun birthday themes a little girl could have.  The colors are so fun!  The characters are so cute!  The ideas are endless!

How will I ever top this next year?!  I know I’ll think of something.

Well, on to the banner!

Untitled
(Sorry for the bad picture quality.) First I started out by creating the individual panes for the banner using a series of different circles and the welding feature on the Silhouette. It’s pretty easy to do, if you’d like a more in-depth tutorial, let me know in the comments and I’d gladly put one together!

Untitled
I love the colors!

Untitled
Then, I created a cirle that fit inside the panels for the images and the letters to fit into. In order to create the circles images, I started off by finding images on-line and saving them to my desktop. I opened up my Silhouette Studio software and created a “print-n-cut” image. I created the circle, then dragged and dropped the image into the circle. I resized the image and moved it around to fit exactly where I wanted it to be.

Untitled
What I love about the “print and cut” feature on the Silhouette is that I can use my own printer. I printed these out with the proper registration marks. My printer a Canon something that we got at a pretty cheap price from Frys Electronics years ago. It’s not the best, but I still think it does a pretty good job!

Untitled
I put the pages into the Silhouette and allowed it to cut. The machine lined up with the registration marks perfectly and I ended up with a perfectly centered image. Gotta love technology!

Untitled
After I cut the letters out, I got out my white gel pen and my black sharpie pen and drew tiny stitch lines around the edges.  From a distance, you can barely make out the stitch lines, and I’m thinking I should have gone bigger with them.  But the tiny stitch lines did add a little something extra on the edges that you can notice from far way.  It worked out.

Untitled
Then, I glued.  I always have a notebook handy when I’m making a banner.  I write down the exact wording, including the spacers.  It’s where I calculate all the supplies and colors I need to make a banner.  I use markers to figure out the pattern I want to use when gluing the letters and images down.  It always helps me out to write things down.  I stay more organized that way.

Untitled
Gluing down everything is definitely one of my favorite parts of banner making.  The ideas become reality.  I just love it!

Untitled
Once everything has been glued down, I start to string it together.  I love this sheer ribbon I found at Michaels.  I usually buy the big spools of ribbon since I make so many banners.  This sheer ribbon and white ribbon are usually my “go-to” ribbons to string up banners. 

I hope you enjoyed the process.  If there is anything you’d like to see featured more “in-depth” please let me know in the comments and I’d gladly put together a blog post about it!

You can also contact me via my Etsy store, CutieQ Cards n Crafts, for custom banner orders for any occasion.

Leave a Reply

