Tutorial: Painted glitter stars

Stickles.

I like them. No, I love them.

I was creating a banner that required a lot of glittered stars. I liked the sparkle and the bling that the glittered stars would create for that banner.

Instead of directly applying Stickles onto the stars, I decided to paint them on.

I did this for two reasons:
1. Directly applying Stickles seemed to require A LOT of Stickles and I’m always about not wasting anything.
2. I thought painting them would reduce the amount of warping as the Stickles dried on the cardstock.

Untitled
The stars were cut with my Silhouette Cameo. My cutting mat is old. I do have new ones, but I’m lazy. So, as you can see, I use washi tape to make sure that the cardstock doesn’t move while being cut.

Untitled
I purchased a cheap paint brush from Michaels. I squished out a glob of stickles onto the clear plastic from an old cutting mat. It was important to use a clear piece of plastic or acetate because the stickles did not stick onto it and I was able to use every little drop. No waste!

Untitled
I didn’t remove the stars from the cutting mat. I didn’t want loose stars all over my desk, and it’s much easier to paint the entire star when it’s still attached to the cardstock. A nice thin layer of Stickles is all that is needed. To determined I had enough “bling” on the star, I would hold it against the light to see if the shine was enough.

Untitled
I let the painted stars dry overnight. Because of the thin layer of Stickles, it dried much faster and didn’t really need to be left alone overnight, but I had other things to take care of. As they dried, I noticed that there was some warping, but not a lot. I think that being stuck on the cutting mat prevented a lot of the warping. When they dried completely, I could barely see any bends in the paper.

Untitled
Here’s the finished product. I really liked how they turned out. I had a few extra stars after the project and many of them showed up on different cards.

Painting glitter stars in bulk is a great way to create a stash of embellishments to store away and use for later.

I hope you enjoyed this picture tutorial. If there is anything else you’d like to see, please feel free to leave a comment!

2 thoughts on “Tutorial: Painted glitter stars

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Esther! | CutieQ Cards n Crafts

  2. Pingback: Stay cool… | CutieQ Cards n Crafts

Leave a Reply

