Journaling spot

Doing my own PL layouts and and using baseball card holders to create my PL layouts, I had to be creative with the journaling spots.

I wanted more than just a simple rectangle of white cardstock matted on a piece of patterened paper or colored cardstock.

If you remember, I tried to experiment with journaling cards and failed miserably here.

I knew I had to try again, and you saw that attempt here.

Untitled

Here is the row I was working on with the “tiled” journaling card.

Untitled
To start the journaling card, I cut a black piece of cardstock to 2 1/2 in x 3 1/2 in. I had a bunch of left over white square from a previous project and I’m not sure what the measurements were.

Untitled
I lined up the squares on to the black piece of cardstock and glued them down. Making pieces run over the edge of the black cardstock made the tiling look less deliberate. I tried to line them up with the grid lines on my cutting mat to make all the lines straight and level.

Untitled
I trimmed the excess off of the piece of cardstock.  I love the look of this tiled panel. It’s very clean and simple.

Untitled
Here is the finished card with the journaling. It’s not your eyes, I blurred the journaling on purpose.

Hope you enjoyed this little picture tutorial.

Do you have any DIY journaling card ideas?

Leave a Reply

