Project 10-39 of 50 – Housewarming invitations

I have a friend that recently moved into a new home.  She asked me to create some invitations for her housewarming party.

She needed 30 so that was a great boost to my whole 50 Projects challenge.  This project was also the reason I had to take a little break on the blog.. I had initially posted this picture to give you a little peek at what I was working on..

Untitled

What I did was stamp 120 cupcakes on to a 12×12 piece of yellow cardstock. The stamp is from an old stamp set I purchased when I first started cardmaking. Then I stamped 60 cupcakes on red cardstock and 60 on craft.

I paper-pieced the bottom “cupcake holder” with either red or craft colored cardstock. Yes, I fussy cut 120 cupcakes total. It was hard work, but definitely worth it because I LOVED the way the cupcakes turned out.

After they were all paper-pieced and a dot of red Stickles placed on top, I carefully applied glossy accents onto the “frosting.”

Untitled

I applied the Glossy Accents before fussy cutting the entire cupcake out of the yellow cardstock for several reasons. One, it kept things neat by not having a bajillion little cupcakes floating around my craft table. Two, it reduced the risk of warping as the Glossy Accents dried.

Once dried, I fussy cut each of the cupcakes out of the yellow cardstock.  No.. I’m not crazy.  🙂

I glued the cupcakes along the left margin of the card. I typed up and printed the text using my printer. I used my Silhouette Cameo to type out “Party Time” in a fun, easy-to-cut text.

Untitled

Then I used my Cameo and found a cute little candy die cut. I assembled it and added some Crystal Stickles for added fun. I put that on the lower right corner.

Untitled

To add some continuity, I stamped the corner of the envelope with the same cupcake stamp I used for the card. I think it’s just the perfect touch for this super cute party invitation!

Untitled

I love the way this invitation came out! It’s 5 1/2 in x 4 1/4 in. It’s a flat card, which means that all the decoration and all the information is found on the front.

Untitled

30 cards = 30 projects

I’m more than half way done with my challenge!!!

2 thoughts on “Project 10-39 of 50 – Housewarming invitations

  1. Pingback: Project 42 of 50 – Negatives.. | CutieQ Cards n Crafts

  2. Pingback: Project 44 of 50 – My FIRST scrapbook layout! | CutieQ Cards n Crafts

Leave a Reply

