Stitching..

I like the look of stitching on paper..

However, I don’t own a sewing machine, and I don’t plan on it either.

I also don’t want to punch holes in my papers and hand stitch because that’s just silly.  I’m sure that sometimes it will work, but with a toddler at home and limited time for crafting.. “ain’t nobody got time fo’ dat!”

So.. the best way to get the stitched look is to draw it!

Yes.. draw..

It’s easy and can really make an impact on a project…

Untitled
This is me drawing stitch lines on the birthday banner I made for my husband last month. It took some time to complete, but I feel it was totally worth it.

Creating this project took much longer than expected. When I told my husband that I was going to create a birthday banner for him, I said, “Oh, it’ll be easy. I already have the idea in my head.. boom, boom, boom, done! Probably will take less than an hour.”

Well.. I was wrong..

I bought the material, took the blue polka dot patterned paper from that large Recollections paper stack I have (see that paper stack here), and put the banner together.

Something was wrong.  Something was off.  What I didn’t anticipate was that the white letters seemed to be buried in the patterned paper.. a friend suggested I take some of the blue cardstock and create a shadow for the white letters.  While that’s a totally perfect solution, most of the letters were already stuck down, and I was running out of time to recut letters, create shadow letters, glue everything down.. yadda yadda.

My solution?!  Faux stitching!

Untitled
You can see the difference the stitching makes in helping that letter “pop” out of the patterned paper. I decided to stitch around the banner to give it some continuity.

I love with an oversight in planning can turn into something fun.. time consuming.. but fun!

Another example of some hand drawn stitching is here in one of my Project Life panels..

Untitled
When I made this card, I felt something was missing. I knew I didn’t want to do the straight dashed lines because I thought it would make the pieces feel more disconnected than they already were.. so.. I did the zigzagged lines and I think it looks awesome. From up close, they definitely looked drawn on, but from far away, they look like I put a sewing machine to it. So much fun!

Don’t forget to visit my Facebook page and like it! Go to CutieQ Cards n Crafts on Facebook by clicking here (and on the name earlier on this sentence).  Hit “like” to get me up to 150 likes before the end of the month.  If I get 150 likes, I will hold my first CutieQ Cards giveaway!

One thought on “Stitching..

  1. Pingback: Project 1 of 50: Another PL Layout | CutieQ Cards n Crafts

Leave a Reply

