Facebook request – Graduation themed cards..

On my Facebook page, CutieQ Cards n Crafts, I posted a status update asking for ideas of what to create for the blog.

One “liker” put that she wanted to see cards with a graduation theme.

I LOVED the feedback.  It helped keep me focused.  All day I was thinking about what sort of things to make and when I came home from work, I rushed to the craft table and started working.

I made two cards with the color scheme of red, black, and white.  My high school colors were pretty those, so I tend to gravitate to it when working on anything “school” related.  Go Rebels!  Hee hee..

I had some old “Congratulations” paper that I purchased from Joann’s about two years ago.  I used it when my dear Hubby graduated with his Masters Degree.  I used it to make the “thank you” cards to the people that were so kind to support him on that big day..  I wish I took pictures of it..

Anyway…
Untitled
This is a standard sized card 5 1/2 in x 4 1/4 in.  On the Cricut, there is an actual diecut of a graduation cap with tassel on one of the cartridges.  But my craft desk is an absolute disaster and I didn’t have room to pull out the trusty Cricut Expressions 2.. so I made the graduation cap myself.  I drew out a diamond and then the curved bottom part.  Then, I cut out another diamond to layer on top of the card to give the gradutation cap a little more dimension..

Untitled
I don’t know if you can totally tell, but there are layers! I freeform cut the tassel.. so it’s totally NOT perfect.. then I made little strips from the end to make it look more like a tassel. It looks ok, but I think I’ll stick to actual diecuts from Silhouette or Cricut from now on.. I punched a tiny circle using my Crop-A-Dile and carefully placed it on top of the tassel to make it look like a real graduation cap.

I handwrote the sentiment on the red strip. I think I’ll use a bolder tipped pen next time because the sentiment gets lost in all the red and the patterned paper..

The next card can be interpreted as a graduation card.. it’s definitely “inspired” but not obvious..

Untitled
Get it? Light bulbs? Ideas? School? Learning to create ideas?

Ok.. it’s a stretch.. but I think it could work.

I played with a little bit of heat embossing. I don’t do it often because I’m not good at it.

Untitled
Notice the warping?

I stamped and heat embossed it AFTER the entire card was made, which caused the entire card to warp, and the washi tape border to lift a little bit. Next time, I will stamp and heat emboss the piece of cardstock BEFORE adhering it to the card. That should fix my warping issue.

Untitled
I initially wanted clear heat embossing power for this project, but I accidentally poured the pearlized embossing powder onto the stamped images.. I don’t think it turned out too bad.  But at this angle, you can see how the washi tape border got all warped and funky from the heat gun.  I handwrote the sentiment again, but you can always use a “congratulations” stamp if you have one.. I have tons, but still chose to handwrite it.  Sometimes that personal touch makes it seem more sentimental..

Is there anything you’d like to see on the blog?  Please feel free to leave it in the comments or visit my Facebook page, the link is above!

One thought on “Facebook request – Graduation themed cards..

  1. Pingback: Two More HS Graduation Pages | Crazywonderfullife

Leave a Reply

