Hello!

I’m making a solid effort to use my stash of patterned papers and scraps and all that I have. 

I honestly have way too much stuff and I usually have no idea how to really use it all.  So I’m forcing myself to use it.  Even if it means forcing creativity.  It’s teaching me a lot.  I’m thinking outside my normal style and getting my creative juices flowing.

I also wanted to start using it to make cards for “Operation Write Home.”  But I realized there’s glitter, and even though it’s such a tiny amount, I just want to avoid it all togther.. Click the link to find out more about this awesome organization!

This card was more a “forced creativity” but I am pretty satisfied with the way it turned out.

I’ve been seeing a lot of cards use this style of piecing together pieces of paper onto the background to create a sort of framing effect.  I wanted to try it out myself.   I can’t really credit once specific site because I tend to see this style all over the place. 

The patterned paper I used is from DCWV’s Glitter Mat Stack.

It’s pretty old and hardly used, so I really wanted to start using it up. 

My pink card base is some old Bazzil 12×12 cardstock that I had left over from a previous project. 

And the white is a piece of scrap paper from my white cardstock from Paper Source. 

The “hello” stamp is a rubber stamp that I found in the $1 bin at Michaels. 

And my red ink is from Stampin’ up. 

I forgot what brand my white gel pen is.. I’m pretty sure I purchased it from Peachy Keen Stamps a few years ago and it’s also lasted me this long. 

Of course, I’m using my trusty ATG gun.  However, I’m really unhappy with the adhesive I have for that.  I usually get my refills at Framingsupplies.com, but it’s usually pretty pricey.  I decided to go through The Tape Depot on Ebay and got some craft ATG refills much cheaper and with free shipping, but I’m totally unhappy with them.  It’s not the quality I’m used to, so I’m not sure if the adhesive will hold in the long term.  I’m trying to use it up as much as possible so I can go back to my old supplier.. but.. I’m rambling…

Moving on..

I can’t really say what the measurements are for the pieces.   I create cards, just like I cook.  I don’t use recipes, I just go with what feels right. 

The card is your standard A2. 

I may mass-produce or create cards similar to this and post some on Etsy and Ebay. 

Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

