Banner time!

 

My soon-to-be birthday girl developed an ear infection after catching a cold over the weekend a few weeks ago and so I was in full mommy-mode for the past few days.

So I had to sacrifice a lot of the other papercrafting projects I was thinking of doing for her birthday party.

Thank goodness I decided to just buy pre-made party favor bags from partypalooza.com.

Anyway, the banner was quick and easy and I got to use my Cricut Expressions 2 AND my Silhouette Cameo.  Who says you have to have one or the other?  Why not have both?!

 

 

 

I love my Gypsy.  I really do.  I love that I can squeeze in as many letters as I could on a 12×12 sheet of paper so I would limit the amount of paper waste.  It’s too bad that they aren’t making these anymore.  I love not being tied to my laptop when working on a project with my E2.

My Gypsy and my E2.. ready to go!

A finished letter.. you like?

It was at this point that my daughter got sick and I just wanted to get the banner done.  So, I stopped taking pictures as I progressed..

Because of my limited time, I decided to simplify the banner.  I had every intention of making the banner match the invitations with the strips of colored paper against the cream background..

Instead, I decided to use each individual color as it’s own banner square.  Simple.  Easy.

I cut out scalloped squares with holes in two of the corners.  I made that shape a while back on my Gypsy when I was making the banner for my daughter’s baptism. 

I took some of the cream colored paper that I used for the invitations and cut notches on the corners to accomodate the holes and to give it a little style.

Here’s the finished banner, minus the ribbon that ties it all together.

As you can see, I used my Silhouette to cut out the music notes that I had used in the invitation.  I also broke out my bottle of Glossy Accents and glossified those notes.. Sorry about the dirty carpet.. I’m sure that’s a stain of spilled baby food from my daughter’s baby food eating days.. So embarrassing!

Leave a Reply

