Birthday invitations.. Bright ideas and mock-ups.

It’s been a long time, hasn’t it? 

I’ve been pretty busy that I’ve pretty much neglected both of my blogs.. life’s hectic when your daughter is turning one and is walking all over the place.

I’ve been planning out her birthday party and finally finished her birthday party invitations.. I was using Instagram to document the entire process from start to finish.. because the process is photo-heavy, I’m probably going to break this down into several blog posts..

It’s also a good reason to give some regularity to my posting habits.

It started off with a bright idea and a sketch one day at work..

I rushed home to play around with some scraps of possible color combinations and totally loved it.. My daughter did too because she grabbed it from my hands and crumpled it up in true “baby fashion.”

The next step was to purchase all the paper I needed. 

I went to Cool Scrapbook Stuff, a local scrapbook store (Facebook page here) in my area and found Bazzil 12×12 textured paper in the colors I needed for the strips of the musical bars..

My black paper came from a Michael’s Recollections pack that I’ve had for the longest time, and the cream colored paper came from Paper Source in Soft White.

For the invitation, I decided to go flat 4.25in x 5.5in.  That means that the recipient just needs to turn the card to the back to find all the information. 

I decided to make the base a lavendar color since I had a bunch leftover from my baby shower last year.  That paper is also from Paper Source in Plum.

 

2 thoughts on “Birthday invitations.. Bright ideas and mock-ups.

    • Thanks! Stay tuned to see the finished card.. and the other birthday party related paper-crafting I will be doing.

Leave a Reply

