It’s a process…

IMPORTANT NOTE: So I want to start off by stating that I will be putting the “selling” part of my cardmaking on hold.. I hang out a lot at the twopeasinabucket.com forums and I just learned about something called an “angel policy.”  It pretty much puts restrictions on what I can and cannot sell if I use a company’s diecuts, stamps, or other cardmaking supplies.  I’m going to look into what this whole “angel policy” is all about and rethink the whole “selling” aspect of CutieQCards, but that may take some time.  So for now, I’m just going to concentrate on the whole creative process.  Who knows, I may want to look into joining design teams, or enter contests.. the skies the limit.

With that said.. lets move on to the creativity!

I’ve been suffering from major creativity block.  I’ve been watching tons of videos and reading tons of blogs to get some inspiration, but it just always leaves me feeling like I don’t have enough things.. I want to be able to create with what I have and not break the bank doing so.. especially since I’m putting this whole “for sale” thing on hold.. I was going to use that to fund my craft habit.. but that’s a whole other blog entry..

We just bought a camcorder, but we don’t have a tripod and I don’t really have the room (at the moment) to make this crazy camera set up, so I settled for taking pictures.. and here we go!

It pretty much started with this.  I cut both shapes out with my Silhouette Cameo and had them lined up on my mat.  But what am I going to do with them?!

I kept looking at the word “thanks” over and over again.  After awhile, it just didn’t seem like a word anymore.  So I decided to drop the “s” and handwrite a “u” using my white gel pen.

I bought this 6×6 pad from scrapbooksteals.com.  It’s Studio Calico’s Take Note Collection.  I pretty much just flipped through every page and placed the letters and heart on each one until I found the one I liked..

The wood-looking patterned paper wins!

So I found some lace tape from a huge scrapbooking kit given to me one Christmas.  It’s a kit from Costco.  I’m not sure of the brand, but it has so much stuff.  This was the first time I have even used something from it, but I think it made a lovely addition to my card.

I’m a recent convert to the Tombow Mono Multi Glue.  For awhile I had (and occasionally still do) been using ZipDry Paper Glue.  I like this for small pieces because it doesn’t smell bad and it also doesn’t create those little glue strings that are super annoying.

I popped up the heart to give it a little dimension.  I bought this dimensional adhesives at Hobby Lobby.  I actually like them.. a lot!

I stared and stared and stared at this for almost an hour hoping I could find some sort of additional inspiration to add to what I have.  It feels so bare to me, but I just can’t figure out what else to do with it.

So I trimmed it down and adhered it to my card base.  That’s Soft White from Paper Source.  The card measures 5.5in width by 4.25in tall.  So I trimmed the patterned paper to 5.25in wide by 4in tall.

And there’s the finished product!  I’m essentially a super clean and simple card maker.  My cards have never been really embellished with a lot of pieces, but the videos that I have been watching always have a good amount of embellishments.  Maybe I’m just feeling the need to keep up with them.  Either way, I’m open to suggestions.

I’d love to here some comments!

2 thoughts on “It’s a process…

  1. Took me a minute to figure out how to leave a comment….lol I like your card. Those angel policies are tough and are pretty much on everything. I often wonder about all the badges I see-how much are original art work?

    • Thanks for the comment. I had no idea angel policies existed! It’s was a sad awakening.. It makes me wonder about all the other handmade cards and stuff I see online.. if they are following such policies when posting their items for sale.. hmmm

      Thanks for liking my card!

      Stop by anytime!

Leave a Reply

